Ten new Ambassadors inducted at Club Melbourne 14th Anniversary Dinner

August 2019 

The prestigious Club Melbourne Ambassador Program celebrated its 14th anniversary and another outstanding year at its annual dinner on Monday 26 August.

The evening saw the induction of ten new Ambassadors and the awarding of its annual Fellowship by the Program’s Patron in Chief, Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria.

Since the Program’s inception in 2005, Club Melbourne has secured 148 international conferences that have delivered an economic impact worth more than $930 million, with support and collaboration from the Victorian State Government and the Melbourne Convention Bureau.

The Club Melbourne Ambassador Program includes 125 eminent Victorians from diverse disciples of medicine, science and environment, technology, engineering, business and education, with only a select few invited to join the Program each year. 

The ten new Ambassadors officially inducted into the Program on the evening are all highly regarded and influential Melbournians within their respective fields.

Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre’s (MCEC), Chief Executive, Peter King said the evening was an important opportunity to celebrate and thank our Ambassadors for their ongoing efforts.

“Club Melbourne is committed to investing in, and nurturing, new talent - and tonight we congratulate our fourth Club Melbourne Fellow, Dr Joseph Doyle along with our ten new Ambassadors,” Mr King said.

“The passion our Club Melbourne Ambassadors have to undertake life-changing work and share new research is the key to maintaining Melbourne’s international reputation as a knowledge hub and leading global city.”

The ten Club Melbourne Ambassadors inducted into the Program in 2019 are:

Associate Professor Anna Boltong – Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre

Ms Lorraine Chiroiu – AusBiotech

Professor Simon Crowe – La Trobe University

Professor Frank Dunshea – The University of Melbourne 

Ms Mary Lawson – Deakin University

Associate Professor Bronwyn Levvey- Alfred Health

Associate Professor Zaffar Sadiq Mohamed-Ghouse – Spatial Vision

Dr Attilio Pigneri – Australian Association for Hydrogen Energy

Professor Luk Rombauts – Monash IVF Group

Professor Emeritus Frances Separovic AO – The University of Melbourne 

2019 Club Melbourne Inductees and Fellow

Top Row (L-R): Dr Joseph Doyle (2019 Fellow), Professor Simon Crowe, Ms Mary Lawson, Mr Peter King (MCEC Chief Executive), Dr Attilio Pigneri, Ms Lorraine Chiroiu, Associate Professor Anna Boltong, Associate Professor Zaffar Sadiq.

Bottom Row (L-R): Professor Luk Rombauts, Ms Katie Tinetti (Senior Manager Club Melbourne), The Hon. John Brumby AO (MCET Chairman), HE the Hon. Linda Dessau AC Governor of Victoria, Mr Anthony Howard AM QC, Associate Professor Bronwyn Levvey