Five new Ambassadors welcomed

August 2018

The Club Melbourne 13th Anniversary Dinner saw the induction of five new outstanding Ambassadors to the Program.

These leading Melburnians are committed to bringing the world to their city to experience world class events, connect with industry leaders and bring thought leadership into the local community.

Each new Ambassador was officially welcomed into the Program by Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust Chairman, the Hon. John Brumby AO on Monday 13 August. 

Mr Matthew Jackson 

Matthew Jackson
Mr Jackson is an experienced conservation and environmental professional, who has extensive involvement in environmental research, conservation, education, wildlife management, operational management and stakeholder relations.

Prior to working at Parks Victoria, Mr Jackson was the Chief Executive Officer at Phillip Island Nature Parks, where he oversaw significant change that involved a high level of community consultation and the delivery of major environmental outcomes and significant new tourist attractions.

He is currently a Board Member on the Victoria Tourism Industry Council Board and committee member of the Victorian Government’s Victorian Economy Ministerial Advisory Committee (VEMAC). He is also a Victorian Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia. 

Professor Anne-Laure Mention 

Professor Mention is the Director of the Global Business Innovation Enabling Capability Platform at RMIT. She is also a Professor at the School of Management at RMIT, a visiting professor at Université de Liège, Belgium, and a visiting professor at Tampere University of Technology, Finland. 

She is one of the founding editors of the Journal of Innovation Management, and the Deputy Head of the ISPIM Advisory Board. Her research interests revolve around open and collaborative innovation, innovation in business to business services, with a particular focus on financial industry and FinTech, technology management, and business venturing. She has also been awarded the prestigious IBM Faculty Award for her research on innovation twice.

Associate Professor Julie Miller

Julie Miller
Associate Professor Miller is one of Australia’s busiest and most experienced Endocrine Surgeons.  She established the Thyroid Cancer Case Conference and Multidisciplinary Clinic at The Royal Melbourne Hospital, and later, Australia’s first One-Stop Thyroid nodule clinic.  She pioneered in Australia a German technique of removing adrenal tumours that allows patients to recover with very little pain, and has since mentored surgeons across Australia in introducing this technique into their own practices. 

Julie was recently elected President of Australian/New Zealand Endocrine Surgeons, and President of the Asian Association of Endocrine Surgeons – the first time a woman has held either of those roles. She also serves on the Membership Committee of the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons.

Associate Professor Peter Reville

Associate Professor Revill is a senior medical scientist at the Victorian Infectious Diseases Reference Laboratory at Royal Melbourne Hospital, located at the Peter Doherty Institute of Infection and Immunity, where he heads the Hepatitis Molecular Virology laboratory. 

His work focuses on the molecular virology of hepatitis B virus, particularly developing novel approaches to curing HBV infection and identifying mechanisms for HBV-associated liver cancer. Peter has most recently championed the establishment of an international consortium that is facilitating coordinated approaches to HBV cure worldwide, known as the International Coalition to Eliminate Hepatitis B and is Chair of the Governing board.

Professor Paul Wood AO

Paul Wood

Professor Wood has had a distinguished career in the life sciences spanning over 30 years. Some of his key leadership roles have included Vice President (Global R&D) in Animal Health at CSL, Leader of the TB Diagnostic and Vaccine development program at CSIRO, and Senior Director (ANZ Biological R&D) and later Executive Director of Global Discovery (USA) at Pfizer.

He is on the Board of Dairy Australia, Women in STEMM Australia and the Global Alliance for Livestock Veterinary Medicines, as well as the Chair of AusBiotech’s Ag & Foodtech Committee. He is also a consultant to the Agriculture program at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.